Rest My Chemistry

Quite a while ago, @ShaneIsGuitar tweeted to me about “Rest My Chemistry”, saying that Interpol is “the best at making perfect layers of sound.”

That’s definitely something I’ve always admired about their music—it’s polyphonic in a sense, comprised of independent lines that layer in a harmonious way on top of each other. Here’s a graphic analysis I made of the song:

First, as you can see, the form of the song is pretty unusual. The chorus feels more like the end of the verse than a separate section. And then we have the strange “so young” sections, which aren’t really functioning as a bridge, but also aren’t the verse or chorus.

Second, we have the “soaring guitar” parts, which give the song some heart: This song is somewhat mechanistic, with everything happening solidly on the beat (that is, there isn’t much syncopation). And yet in the midst of this we hear these soaring guitar lines striving to rise above the unfeeling machines (that hard kick drum hit during the choruses feels particularly brutal to me).

Ok that’s it for now! I’m working on a transcription of the song, but don’t have it quite finished yet (will post when I do!).

Next post I’ll be looking at some comments emailed to me by Brian about how the first half and the second half of Interpol represent the band’s two different stylistic approaches.

~ by megwilhoite on September 8, 2012.

5 Responses to “Rest My Chemistry”

  1. Love this post ! … looking forward a video once you had transcribed this song 🙂
    cheers

  2. This was great! Thank you so much. I can’t wait until you transcribe this song.

  3. […] four years ago, I posted a little chart that illustrated when I heard a pattern change in each of the instruments. Looking at […]

Leave a Reply

 
